catallaxy files

catallaxy in technical exile

Kiwi Randwatcher

with 4 comments

There is a very interesting blogger in New Zealand who set up a site for the critical discussion of Ayn Rand and Objectivism. He also links to Catallaxy and the Rathouse, being an admirer of Critical Rationalism.

Advertising is his game and he took out an award a few years ago with a spoof on advertising.

In case you want to do business with Barnes and Catmur. Don’t miss the “aimless game”.

Written by Rafe

January 3, 2010 at 9:16 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You couldn’t make this shit up:

    Kevin Rudd writes book for kids

    At least he’s now writing more at his own intellectual level.

    Michael Sutcliffe

    January 3, 2010 at 11:29 am

  2. Here’s a good link via that website Rafe:

    FDB

    January 3, 2010 at 11:58 am

  3. I’m a longtime follower of ARCHN, although these days I call by about 2-3 times per year just to see what’s happening. ARCHN had a similar effect on me to when I was a devout Christian. After many years in the Church – I was the young guy asking you to come to a Bible discussion in shopping malls – I finally couldn’t hold the charade any longer. By my late 20s I was forced to admit to myself that no argument I’d ever entered into ever suggested with any substance that there really was a God, that nothing about Christian people made them any better than anyone else as they still stole, had affairs, and there really wasn’t that much more charity going on, and the church really was just a social club full of insecure people trying to make sense of the world. I still love Christianity as part of our western heritage but I can’t honestly say to myself that it’s anything but an attempt of making sense of the world, and Jesus may have existed but he was just a really successful pre-TV televangelist!

    I was into objectivism well before I let go of the idea of God (and, surprisingly, this didn’t make as many conflicts as you might think). Sites like ARCHN played a good role in helping me cement my acknowledgement of objectivism as worthy of consideration. In the same way that all the efforts of the church forced me to acknowledge that they really had nothing, the effort and energy expended by the Greg and Daniel to expose objectivism as a fraud has forced me to acknowledge they really don’t have an argument. Hundreds or thousands of posts, maybe tens or hundreds of thousands of words and I cannot recall one thing they’ve said that actually points out a conclusive flaw in Rand’s work. I still go looking for it every now and then, but it just simply isn’t there, at least to any level which would say ‘no, she’s wrong on this one’ regarding the key overriding principles of objectivism, i.e. not the stuff on aesthetics etc. I’m sure Greg and Daniel don’t like objectivism, that’s fine. I didn’t want to let go of God. But objective reality exists regardless of the way you feel about it. I personally believe in the same way Christians need to prove the existence of their God to keep their world intact, Greg and Daniel feel objectivism is a threat.

    Michael Sutcliffe

    January 3, 2010 at 1:01 pm

  4. FDB: scary thing about that graph is US public funding without private spending is probably already above sweden.

    drscroogemcduck

    January 3, 2010 at 3:08 pm


Leave a Reply

