catallaxy files

catallaxy in technical exile

Brief blogbash report

with 49 comments

Last night’s dinner/blogbash was a lot of fun. I finally got to meet commenter fatfingers and of course Helen ‘skepticlawyer’ Dale. A lot of ALS bloggers were in attendance – namely John Humphreys (who is crashing at my place), Justin Jefferson, Terje (say Tay-A) Petersen and David Leyonhjelm. Other attendees were my other fellow Catallaxy bloggers Heath G, c8to and Rafe Champion; young libertarian writer Benjamin Marks; ex-blogger Alan Anderson; an old friend from university, Cathy; and prolific commenter Graeme Bird.

Later in the event Tim Lambert and wife turned up. Unfortunately no one recorded for posterity the handshake between the two eternal nemeses, Bird and Lambert.

At midnight the Clock closed and we were asked to move on and some of us continued further late night drinking at Strawberry Hills Hotel.

Written by Admin

December 17, 2006 at 2:50 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

49 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. They shook hands?? And no one ever took the pic. Bird is the new Tim Blair.

    JC.

    December 17, 2006 at 3:05 pm

  2. Next you’re telling us they shared a cab together.

    JC.

    December 17, 2006 at 3:07 pm

  3. Sorry to have missed it, but with wife and baby both crook I couldn’t really come.

    Steve Edney

    December 17, 2006 at 3:46 pm

  4. Dude it came out of a clear blue sky.

    He came up to me (when I was focusing on something else) just before he was leaving and said who he was and then was gone.

    The matter was totally out of my control and it was a suprise move by him giving me no chance to take evasive action.
    >>>>>>>>>

    I’m glad I went in the end. And certain undertakings were made for a new look at what strategies would be necessary for libertarians to WIN THIS THING in reality and not just in terms of the intellectual arguments.

    Since it is clear by the general ignorance, lack of seriousness, evasiveness and so forth of the left that libertarian or near-libertarian arguments are superior.

    Some smart people there:

    “there was more brain power in that room than at any other time, except perhaps when Justin Jefferson dined alone.”

    GMB

    December 17, 2006 at 3:51 pm

  5. What evasive action, Bird? You could either shake the guys hand or not. “You chose wisely” , it seems.

    You see, people aren’t as scary when you meet them face to face.

    ” Some smart people there”

    I should have rolled, to 1/2 the IQ in the room. Nothing like getting back to basics.

    JC.

    December 17, 2006 at 3:56 pm

  6. Sorry to hear that, Steve. Hope they’re ok soon.

    How old is the baby now?

    JC.

    December 17, 2006 at 3:58 pm

  7. He’s nearly one. They are ok just runing a bit of a temperature, but he was a cranky and not sleeping well, so its a bit slack to leave someone who is also not well to deal with. There will be more blogbashes.

    Steve Edney

    December 17, 2006 at 4:10 pm

  8. “You see, people aren’t as scary when you meet them face to face.”

    My goodness. Are you in league with Mr Humphreys.

    Lambert doesn’t look scary at all.

    The thing is this though.

    A rattlesnake looks scary to some. But a car looks scary to few. Yet the car is far more potentially dangerous.

    But if people had a visceral feeling for how cosmically damaging someone orsomething might be too them, there would surely be many African children shivering in fear at the vision of Lambert.

    To us he might not look scary but to them he would be a white devil on a totally other scale to any other malign wastes-of-whitey that had ever brought pain and suffering to that Continent before.

    He would loom large in their dreams like a five-hundred-foot Angry Anderson.

    The sweats, the night-cramps, and the fever would be there long before the first malaria-carrying mosquito had done its work.

    Catching the dread disease would actually be a RELIEF to the small children as from there the most malign of all Michelin-Men could invade their dreaming no more.

    GMB

    December 17, 2006 at 4:38 pm

  9. “there was more brain power in that room than at any other time, except perhaps when Justin Jefferson dined alone.”

    Is that a reinterpretation of the famous JFK quote about the supposed intellectual exceptionalism of the attendees at one of his White House dinner parties? – “there has been no more brilliant assemblage here since the last time Thomas Jefferson dined alone.”

    I didn’t have you pegged as a JFK devotee, Bird 🙂

    Geoff Honnor

    December 17, 2006 at 4:38 pm

  10. Thats the quote alright Geoff.

    I was most impressed by Mr Jefferson, and David, and had I googled Mr Marks before rather then just now I might have tried to talk to him also.

    I was most impressed by skeptic also. But I knew I would be all along. The others were a bit of a surprise.

    You know that some of these libertarians actually have jobs?!

    GMB

    December 17, 2006 at 4:43 pm

  11. Makes you wonder, though, why Tom and Justin didn’t eat together every so often.

    C.L.

    December 17, 2006 at 4:44 pm

  12. Quotes of the day:

    Lambert as “the most malign of all Michelin-Men” and “a five-hundred-foot Angry Anderson”.

    C.L.

    December 17, 2006 at 4:46 pm

  13. I had fun last night. Graeme was civil, everyone was interesting, I just wish I could have stayed and talked to more people. Unfortunately I had a lot of work to get done this morning and couldn’t stay out too late. Roll on the next blogbash!

    fatfingers

    December 17, 2006 at 5:04 pm

  14. sorry to hear about that, Steve.

    Jason Soon

    December 17, 2006 at 7:22 pm

  15. So sorry, Mr Bird — I should have given you fair warning so you could have run away and hidden in the corner.

    TimLambert

    December 17, 2006 at 7:22 pm

  16. No need to apologise for that.

    You just use your website for good and not for evil from here on in.

    And look at it like this!

    If you dissavow with great fervour your prior Malarial-Holocaust-Denial views as well as your un-science on CO2-demonology….

    If you abruptly do this in the strongest way possible… It will garner world-wide publicity. And you could well make pot-fuls of gold over it.

    You want to distance yourself from all this evil crap before your kids start growing up on you.

    Since your association with this homocidal and smug bullshit will likely cause major familial strain if you haven’t put some distance between your then-self and your former-self as propagandist.

    I took a look at your latest thread.

    Instead of ‘no comment necessary’ you should have called it ‘I have no argument available.”

    GMB

    December 17, 2006 at 8:05 pm

  17. GMB,

    As you know, Lambert runs away and hides every time I try to get him to discuss DDT and malaria. Jason probably wouldn’t mind if Lambert and i hashed out our differences here in this thread but there’s no way Lambert will be in it.

    Becky

    December 17, 2006 at 8:16 pm

  18. Well its a bit hard to beat up on him right now.

    A bit like being nasty to small children.

    He’s OK just so long as he turns around 180 degrees and starts undoing the harm that he has done.

    GMB

    December 17, 2006 at 8:28 pm

  19. I didn’t know about the event last night till yesterday. Busy life.

    Sacha Blumen

    December 17, 2006 at 9:13 pm

  20. I think it was about 4:30am when I rolled into bed. I shaped up well enough to make the kids breakfast at 7am, however I did have a snooze latter in the morning.

    It was fun to put faces to names.

    terjepetersen

    December 17, 2006 at 10:02 pm

  21. I haven’t pulled a party allnighter like that for a loooong time. I am now reminded that, as one gets older, pulling party allnighters is, ahem, difficult.

    I promised Tim Lambert some photographs, but I haven’t even downloaded them off my camera (sorry Tim). I will get around to it.

    skepticlawyer

    December 17, 2006 at 10:13 pm

  22. that was one long bull session.
    say, are you online much while you’re here, Helen? when did you say you were leaving sydney? I forgot.

    John (who is crashing at my place) and I went to sleep at 6 am. And I think I probably woke up poor John who was sleeping in my sofa because I’m a very poor sleeper and not really someone who can sleep in into the day so I woke up at 11 am, bummed around the apartment, and made a lot of noise or at least enough to wake him up given that it is a small place.

    Jason Soon

    December 17, 2006 at 10:28 pm

  23. For at least a year I’ve thought that I want to get a good night’s sleep so I can have a good next day. Does that officially take me into a new stage of life?

    Sacha Blumen

    December 17, 2006 at 10:29 pm

  24. PS on the other hand I did black out for a few minutes at a time into the debate between John and Graeme.

    Jason Soon

    December 17, 2006 at 10:30 pm

  25. I also think babies are cute – I can understand why people reproduce (although all the stuff that comes with having babies seems very difficult). Cluckiness must be genetically programmed.

    Sacha Blumen

    December 17, 2006 at 10:34 pm

  26. Jason, I’m around until Tuesday afternoon or maybe Wednesday. At the moment I can’t email anyone (although I can read my mail) and am staying with mates at Coogee.

    skepticlawyer

    December 17, 2006 at 11:25 pm

  27. I regret I could’t be there. It’s a shame Sacha you don’t check catallaxy regularly, for there were quite a few announcements and reminders.

    Boris

    December 17, 2006 at 11:28 pm

  28. “PS on the other hand I did black out for a few minutes at a time into the debate between John and Graeme.”

    Yeah well you out to pay attention more. You might not have fallen asleep had you been taking notes whenever I managed to get John to stop filling the room up with words so that I could have a turn.

    You might think what he’s doing is TALKING.

    I would say its more like ACTIVE AGGRESSIVE-NON-LISTENING.

    And he’ll be reminded of this bad habit because its what I’ve diagnosed as the reason behind the reason behind all his intellectual blind spots.

    GMB

    December 17, 2006 at 11:31 pm

  29. And we’d all sunk a reasonable amount of piss, Graeme. Tends to make most people do random stuff (even if it’s just considering raiding Jason’s library, which kinda sorta crossed my mind…)

    skepticlawyer

    December 18, 2006 at 12:39 am

  30. TimLambert

    December 18, 2006 at 12:52 am

  31. Yes well Jason has a rather good little book collection.

    So its understandeable that one might raid it.

    Still its quite a novelty to think that there are Queenslanders who actually get drunk and then want to grab a bunch of books.

    Perhaps I got round in the wrong circles when I was living up there.

    Lamberts pictures show us just what must be done to stop Humphreys crowding dudes out of the room with his ultra-fast talking (ie active non-listening) technique.

    You just got to pull out a camera.

    Just pull out a polaroid and the guy will stop talking and try and get together his best look for posterity.

    GMB

    December 18, 2006 at 1:20 am

  32. Captions would be helpful in identifying people for those who weren’t there. Like Tim had last time:

    Bloggers at the Clock

    That’s Tim Blair, Stephen Hill, me and Jason.

    But apart from SL, I don’t think I’ve met any of the others whose pics are captured.

    Mark Bahnisch

    December 18, 2006 at 2:47 am

  33. As you can see in the larger version of the pic:

    http://flickr.com/photo_zoom.gne?id=255579947&context=photostream&size=o

    I believe Jason’s introduction to both malt scotch and its excellence as a beer chaser has been recorded for the ages. It’s a fine habit which I was delighted to introduce Jason to.

    Tim B was drinking chardonnay as is his wont 🙂

    Glad to hear everyone had a good time!

    Mark Bahnisch

    December 18, 2006 at 2:53 am

  34. OK, I added some captions

    TimLambert

    December 18, 2006 at 4:17 am

  35. Greetings from rural Central Queensland.

    Sounded like fun ….. hope that when you were moved on, it wasn’t in the same way as was Yobbo over in Perth several weeks ago. 😦

    Re Pinochet – didn’t expect SBS-TV to replace Chile’s Esta Semana with such a pleasant travelogue about Chile.

    GMB:
    Comparing a rattlesnake and a car? I like it.

    Graham Bell

    December 18, 2006 at 8:22 am

  36. Tim, I’ve forgotten to bring my fecking camera cable, so can’t get the pics off the bloody thing! I’ll have to do it when I get back from Sydney.

    Sorry again!

    skepticlawyer

    December 18, 2006 at 11:00 am

  37. Was heaps of fun, really good meeting everyone! 🙂

    Kitty

    December 18, 2006 at 3:06 pm

  38. fatfingers – truth in advertising, dude. your fingers aren’t really fat.

    Jason Soon

    December 18, 2006 at 3:21 pm

  39. Same for you, Jase – you weren’t soon, you were late 😉

    Where’s Homer when you need him?

    fatfingers

    December 18, 2006 at 4:50 pm

  40. Wish you’d linked your blog before, Kitty. Good stuff!

    skepticlawyer

    December 18, 2006 at 5:24 pm

  41. SL, thanks!

    Kitty

    December 18, 2006 at 6:34 pm

  42. Is Birdy the guy in the loud shirt? Or is he the bearded guy in the black shirt?

    Either option suits my mental image.

    melaleuca

    December 18, 2006 at 10:36 pm

  43. Just don’t you stare too long and hard at anyone you think is me buddy.

    Don’t want you getting any lewd thoughts going here Munn.

    GMB

    December 18, 2006 at 10:57 pm

  44. Neither, Eddy. Why is that, you have the hots for them, big gal?

    JC.

    December 18, 2006 at 10:57 pm

  45. GB

    I think Mel Aleuca has the hots for you dude. He’s going round the web trying to find pics of you.

    Mel, Birdy doesn’t take kindly to unsolicited offers.

    JC.

    December 18, 2006 at 11:03 pm

  46. Settle down pineapples. I’m not into pudgy white guys.

    If anyone has anything to worry about it’s Jason 😉

    melaleuca

    December 18, 2006 at 11:20 pm

  47. Onya Mel.

    Bird was worried there for a second.

    Reagrding Soon, I don’t wanna speak for him but I think you’re hugging the wrong tree there.

    Bird may be a little on the cute/pudgy side but I’m certainly not.

    JC.

    December 18, 2006 at 11:35 pm

  48. ” I’m not into pudgy white guys.”

    Just don’t look too long at any one picture Munn.

    We know you sodomites are even bigger knob-heads then the rest of us.

    So you are not fooling anyone with these protestations.

    GMB

    December 19, 2006 at 12:19 am

  49. Ummm, I think he was taking the piss, Graeme.

    skepticlawyer

    December 19, 2006 at 1:27 am


Leave a Reply

