catallaxy files

catallaxy in technical exile

Another advantage for us southpaws?

with 15 comments

Somehow I don’t think this necessarily applies to me though I don’t think I’m sluggish in my cognitive processes. Perhaps ‘thinking fast’ doesn’t necessarily translate into ‘good at gaming’, especially since gaming was never really my thing.

    Left-handed people often perform better than right-handers at fast or difficult tasks that involve lots of information or stimuli, new research suggests.
    For instance left-handers might be better at playing fast computer games, talking while driving in heavy traffic and piloting a jet fighter – activities that need both hemispheres of the brain to process information.
    Dr Nick Cherbuin from the Australian National University and colleagues report their findings in the November issue of the journal Neuropsychology.
    He says the left-hander’s brain is wired slightly differently to the right-hander’s as it tends to be more symmetrical with larger and perhaps faster connections between hemispheres.
    The computer tests in 80 right and 20 left-handers measured how fast information transferred between hemispheres by hitting a button to indicate whether a light flash was left or right of a dot.
    Another test to match letters found left-handers performed better when letters flashed on both sides of the dot, requiring collaboration across hemispheres.
Written by Admin

December 7, 2006 at 12:20 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ll take any evidence that boost my self-esteem!!

    Bring Back CL's Blog

    December 7, 2006 at 12:50 pm

  2. here’s more to boost your self-esteem, Homer

    http://www.findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_qn4158/is_20000808/ai_n14319855

    Jason Soon

    December 7, 2006 at 1:15 pm

  3. oh dear I appear to be the outlier

    Bring Back CL's Blog

    December 7, 2006 at 1:25 pm

  4. I’ll join you in that Homer – both my boss and I are lefties!

    skepticlawyer

    December 7, 2006 at 2:37 pm

  5. You too, sl?
    Both my boss and I are lefties too.

    Jason Soon

    December 7, 2006 at 2:45 pm

  6. And me too. But I’m incredibly unco-ordinated – I’d immediately crash any fighter plane I was piloting.

    In both cricket and baseball, it’s really noticeable how many top players are chirally confused – they bat left handed but throw right handed or vice versa. I read an article once that investigated this and concluded that people having symmetrical hemispheres was really good for spatial awareness and co-ordination.

    derrida derider

    December 7, 2006 at 2:52 pm

  7. I bowl right, bat left, play racquet sports and golf left, write left, fight southpaw but do the tricky bits of my cornrows righthanded. Go figure!

    skepticlawyer

    December 7, 2006 at 2:55 pm

  8. “people having symmetrical hemispheres was really good for spatial awareness and co-ordination. ”

    Not something I’m renowned for, to put it mildly. There must be 2 kinds of left handers.

    Jason Soon

    December 7, 2006 at 2:56 pm

  9. I had a fighter pilot work for me once. He used work off a carrier … flew F15s. Told me a stories of what it was like. They practiced most days for 3 hours. One of the practice runs was landing at night in a storm with lights out. He basically said it was the equivalent of a crash landing. Once down you could feel a cold sweat, runny sweat all over his body.

    Surprising he couldn’t make it as a trader as he seemed totally blinkered and he went back to flying for United Airlines.

    I’m hopeless with ballgames. Trying to even mark a ball like in Aussie rules means that I end up with a ball hitting me in the face.

    JC.

    December 7, 2006 at 3:19 pm

  10. Cricket is a weird sport in that no matter which hand is dominant, you can bat with either a left or right-handed grip and still bat well.

    Michael Hussey is right handed as is Matthew Hayden.

    Having your dominant hand on top (Like Hayden and Hussey do) gives you less power but more control.

    yobbo

    December 7, 2006 at 4:41 pm

  11. I am lefthanded and bowled that way but batted righthanded.

    I guess that is why I played for Australia!!

    Bring Back CL's Blog

    December 7, 2006 at 4:43 pm

  12. SL and Jason:

    “both my boss and I are lefties!”

    *double take*

    FDB

    December 7, 2006 at 4:47 pm

  13. So does Michael Clarke, Homer.

    skepticlawyer

    December 7, 2006 at 4:47 pm

  14. I was an opening bowler

    Bring Back CL's Blog

    December 7, 2006 at 8:16 pm

  15. If you’re around at the blogbash, Homer, we may have a bloody good mixed club side in the making…

    🙂

    skepticlawyer

    December 7, 2006 at 8:28 pm


Leave a Reply

