catallaxy files

catallaxy in technical exile

What's your poison?

with 36 comments

Yobbo has a nice post on the health nazis taking aim at their latest target – caffeine and energy drinks. The bit he quotes is a killer (pun intended). So in the spirit of defiance – what’s your poison?

Happy to name mine –

I don’t drink alcohol regularly but when I do, I do drink a lot. Red wine is definitely my poison, but so is scotch and vodka (straight, none of this candied water nonsense).
Black coffee with two sugars – I have one cup 1-2 times a day, definitely my first drink the moment I wake up, maybe a third if I need to pull a late nighter for work.
Fast food – proper greasy hamburgers with everything (bacon, beef patty, fried egg), not the kiddy sized McDonalds ones.

Written by Admin

November 30, 2006 at 10:09 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

36 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Vodka for mine, Polish or Ukrainian when I can get it, especially wisniewka, which has the wonderful capacity to get you pissed from the feet up. You stay wonderfully coherent until you attempt to stand up… and then kiss the footpath.

    skepticlawyer

    November 30, 2006 at 10:20 pm

  2. Scotch straight up when I can afford it.

    Anything that’s not sweet otherwise.

    FDB

    November 30, 2006 at 10:25 pm

  3. As far as alcohol is concerned, I’m a fan of real ales, Belgian, Dutch and German beer, Guiness, the brews down at Little Creatures in Fremantle, Coopers of South Australia (particularly the dark ale), Boags of Tasmania and Tooheys Old – put it this way, if it isn’t cooking lager or pissweak, I’ll probably enjoy it as far as beer goes. Red wine is my winter indulgence, particularly enjoy New World wines from Australia and Chile, although there are some decent French and Italian drops about. Port always gets a look in as well in winter, as does brandy, and single malt Scotish whisky (with just a dash of water to bring out the complexities of the peaty aromas). Gin is also a sin, but I like mine introduced to a touch of vermouth (stirred of course) or served with lime and tonic.

    Coffee is capucino before midday, espresso thereafter in the Italian fashion.

    Food must be fresh and regional, but this would need a whole other thread to ilucidate.

    Brendan Halfweeg

    November 30, 2006 at 10:27 pm

  4. Oh, also…

    Taurine is weird, dudes. It’s a hormone (added to cat food to compensate the poor carnivores for the cereal-based diet we give them) derived from the organs of mammals, and naturally occurring in humans.

    Taurine, taurus… discovered first in bulls (hence Red Bull).

    For some reason, I’m more concerned about taking in huge quantities of a naturally occurring chemical than just poisoning myself and letting my liver sort it out. The exception being DMT, ‘cos that shit gives the best hallucinations you could possibly hope for, and 15 minutes later you could have tea and scones with your Granny.

    Okay, so to re-cap.

    My poison = DMT.

    FDB

    November 30, 2006 at 10:35 pm

  5. Warm milk, sometimes served with breadcrusts if the matron is in a good mood.

    Rafe Champion

    November 30, 2006 at 10:57 pm

  6. Take2.

    About 9 months ago I developed recurring stomach pains. They sent a camera in on a long cable via the duct at each end of the digestive system (use your imagination). This type of examination is kind of painful but the sedatives tend to cause amnesia so I don’t remember abusing the doctor. They have given up looking for the cause of the pain but it still comes and goes. As such I’m now a lot more conscious of what goes in the hatch.

    About 10 years ago I got tied of dentist bills so I gave up sugar in my tea and coffee and I’ve never been to the dentist since.

    About 9 years ago I read a book on how to brainwash yourself. At that stage I loved bacon. I brainwashed myself not to eat bacon and since then I don’t. Bacon will kill you. Eating bacon is worse than drinking a 3 litre bottle of spew. Don’t eat bacon.

    About 8 years ago I went vegetarian. i.e. no meat. I started eating meat again (in moderation) about two years ago.

    Alcohol can be fun. However as I’ve gotten older I find intoxication less enjoyable. And without intoxication there is a lot less of a point to alcohol. However occasionally I lapse back in time.

    I get a slightly abnormal rush of pleasure having breakfast in a cafe with the newspaper handy. It is a little disturbing and I have no idea why it happens.

    I’m trying to give up soft drink. I think Coke Zero might have brought on the stomach problems.

    Anyway I’m pretty sure I’ve failed to answer the question.

    terjepetersen

    November 30, 2006 at 11:28 pm

  7. “Fast food – proper greasy hamburgers with everything (bacon, beef patty, fried egg), not the kiddy sized McDonalds ones. ”

    They will have to pull this out of my cold dead hand before I give up an Oz burger, possibly the best lunch food in the world.

    I don’t how any of you drink that heavy italian style coffee in the afternoons. it makes me feel like shit.

    lot’s of Oz wines make me short of breath as a result of all the crap they put into them. I really hate to say it, but frog stuff is better that way.

    Beer is good, especially that West Oz stuff and that Italian dark beer Moretti.

    JC.

    December 1, 2006 at 12:16 am

  8. sheesh, Terje, no wonder you don’t like McDonalds. 🙂

    Jason Soon

    December 1, 2006 at 12:18 am

  9. Beer.

    Italian; Chinese; fish ‘n chips; ham and steak burgers (proper ones, a la Jason); old-fashioned baked dinners (which our family always used to have for Sunday lunch – however hot); good fish delicately cooked with the best salad that can be got together (we never ate meat on Fridays – Lent or not – and this tradition I unthinkingly continue); really good Irish stew with lots of bread ‘n butter – yum; memories of cold footy training and Mum’s call to the pot-a-stew and dumplings. 🙂 I used to be more of a cook-up breakfast man than I am these days; will sometimes make scrambled eggs which I enjoy with a good cup of tea; I am Seinfeldian about cereals – I loves ’em all. I will and often do eat 10 Wheat Bix at a sitting. (One of my brothers and I used to have competitions – which he would lose); oh – yes – Indian; and Japanese noodles with lots of things; favourite dessert: probably baked cheesecake (which I make myself); I enjoy really good chocolate cake and will occasionally duck into a bakery on a dedicated mission to buy a humble lamington (which I will deny having done – I imitate my bikkie-monster and cake-eating Dad who used to deny eating sweet things because they’re womanish; “oh, where did they all go”?); good meat pies (always two).

    No, I don’t look like Michael Moore.

    C.L.

    December 1, 2006 at 12:36 am

  10. One espresso per day

    1/4 pounders

    One good beer (Aussie boutique, Japanese, German)

    Red wine (Aussie, Chilean, Argentine, Spanish, Italian).

    Asahi super dry, sake and shochu (courtesy of new recent location).

    Whisky and whiskey are evil. Polish vodka is good.

    jimmythespiv

    December 1, 2006 at 12:41 am

  11. That’s a wonderful diet, CL. Seriosuly, bar the cheese cake, it made my mouth water.

    Nothing but n thing beats an Oz burger with the lot- no pinapple.

    Terje

    Let me diagnose your illness. you have diverticulitis. It was once so painful I went to the emergency. The crap doesn’t show up under endoscopy, they sometimes get it by CAT scan though. Next time you are in pain use a low does of anit-biotic – Ibilex 250. 4 a day until the pain goes away. Thank me later for the advice.

    anyway. why give bacon away when it tastes so great with eggs wany which way.

    Get back to a normal diet and take the medication I suggested you’ll be fine. you’ll feel even better not visiting Quiggler’s site.

    JC.

    December 1, 2006 at 1:06 am

  12. JC,

    I have done antibiotics and the emergency ward. Neither seemed to help. Is Ibilex something special in the way of antibiotics?

    Of course bacon tastes great. But I wouldn’t actually eat the stuff.

    The great thing about giving up meat is that after a while you actually start to notice flavours that you missed out on before. And even though I eat meat again now I still can’t stand meat on my pizza.

    Regards,
    Terje.

    terjepetersen

    December 1, 2006 at 1:24 am

  13. Diverticulitis is generally lower leftsided pain, but not always. It’s inflamation of the lower bowel usually brought on by age. Most people don’t feel it.

    Ibilex is a standard anti- biotic given for bowel problems. I have a really great GP who let me try a few becasue not all work well. I found this one to do the trick and don’t need to use it once I am passed the pain problem.

    JC.

    December 1, 2006 at 1:34 am

  14. Jason,

    Even when I gave up on meat I never gave up on McDonalds. They happily do burgers without meat and they taste good too. I have never been a regular customer though. Although I did have a McOz meal about 2 weeks ago. And if you do a road trip with young kids them McDonalds is like mecca.

    Oh and when I fly I always travel as a vegetarian because you get better food and you get served first.

    And as a vegetarian you notice funny stuff. Like asian restaurants that advertise “vegetarian fried rice with pork”.

    Regards,
    Terje.

    terjepetersen

    December 1, 2006 at 1:36 am

  15. JC,

    How do you know that I still visit Quiggins blog?

    Regards,
    Terje.

    terjepetersen

    December 1, 2006 at 1:40 am

  16. Yeah, JC. What is it with pineapple on burgers?

    It aint right.

    C.L.

    December 1, 2006 at 2:35 am

  17. I’m just joshing around Terje.

    JC.

    December 1, 2006 at 2:36 am

  18. Jason, I think the libertarian idea is that we should not be restricted in our choice of healthy or unhealthy food. It’s our business.

    It does not follow that libertarians should eat junk food.

    For example, I do not like the government forcing everyone to use a seatbelt. Yet, I will always do it. These are two different things.

    It would be silly not to wear a seatbelt as a form of protest against government interference.

    Boris

    December 1, 2006 at 3:58 am

  19. “It does not follow that libertarians should eat junk food.”

    boris, you gotta eat junk food. Oz has the best selection of total crap in the world. Seriously, it even better than US junk food as we have our own and theirs. Ours is superior by miles.

    It’s mandatory that libertarians eat junk. You can’t call yourself a libertarian otherwise.

    So, don’t be like my wife who lives a totally mirthless life when it comes to food. I always remind her that you can’t be happy not eating crap.

    Seriouly, Boris, you will be a much happier person doing an oz burger with the lot washed down with a very cold coke.

    don’t forget to rotate by doing fish&chips at least once a week.

    JC.

    December 1, 2006 at 4:25 am

  20. Black coffee during the day (never instant), earl grey at night. Red wine and scotch for alcohol. Whopper meal for a quickie, roast beef, corned beef, burger with the lot from the fish n chip shop, pizza, Thai, Indian, condensed milk straight from the can. Stopped smoking, cold turkey, 5 years ago.

    Sinclair Davidson

    December 1, 2006 at 6:49 am

  21. #9 I am doing to run away from the nursing home and live at CL’s place.

    Rafe Champion

    December 1, 2006 at 6:51 am

  22. JC,

    Even if you were not joshing I was still replying with a grin. There is little point being here if nobody ever said anything mildly entertaining. You are actually reasonable amusing even if sometimes a little prone to hyperbole. And you even give free medical advice. So josh away. My skin is thicker that John Humphrey sometimes seems to infer. Even if my guts are not as good as they used to be.

    Regards,
    Terje.

    p.s. Tex never did respond to my last question about his views on Israel.

    terjepetersen

    December 1, 2006 at 8:35 am

  23. Boris,

    I read somewhere that being graceful entailed being liberal in what you tolerate and conservative in what you do. I’m not entirely graceful but I like the sentiment.

    Regards,
    Terje.

    terjepetersen

    December 1, 2006 at 8:45 am

  24. I eat anything and anyway, and don’t give a crap whether its good for me or not.

    I especially have a fondness for those fake deep-fried “spring rolls” you get at servos. I like the way you can squeeze them and see the fat ooze out.

    yobbo

    December 1, 2006 at 10:48 am

  25. jeez, Boris, lighten up. All those Russian winters you experienced got to you? 🙂
    this was just meant to be a fun post.

    Jason Soon

    December 1, 2006 at 10:50 am

  26. I eat anything and anyway, and don’t give a crap whether its good for me or not.

    That sounds intelligent. Here try some fugu liver.

    terjepetersen

    December 1, 2006 at 11:05 am

  27. JC, you’re a man of taste. Moretti is a delicious drop, I only wish it came in bigger bottles. Guinness or Coopers Stout for preference for me, though.
    The morning after the night before, thick wholemeal toast with heaps of butter and Vegemite and black unsugared coffee. Nothing better.

    Liam

    December 1, 2006 at 11:15 am

  28. Moretti Rosso = poetry.

    The regular Moretti is pretty good too.

    I wish I was that dude on the label.

    Little Creatures Pale Ale now comes in a pint bottle. Improvement on perfection anyone?

    FDB

    December 1, 2006 at 11:46 am

  29. Liam, FDB

    You see. you’re not all bad.

    How exciting for both you enjoying the finer things capitalism has to offer.

    Yes Rosso is wonderful. Little creatures has come close to copying the taste.

    JC.

    December 1, 2006 at 12:40 pm

  30. Hey, I only like L.C. because of my feminazi unionist leanings – a lady brewer was responsible, and it’s brewed on the docks in Fremantle.

    FDB

    December 1, 2006 at 12:47 pm

  31. Blue Tongue is fantastic. Gin is my poison anyway.

    Mark Hill

    December 1, 2006 at 1:00 pm

  32. Scotch and Dry for drinkies.

    Everything for the food (skepti’s right about what the Melbourne weather will do for one’s diet).

    Eating hot baked dinners every Sunday regardless of the weather used to be a very Queensland thing to do.

    Ahhh, they were the good old days.

    Darlene

    December 1, 2006 at 5:12 pm

  33. I’m a great fan of McOz, eating one is a patriotic act. Just to be contrary I refuse the french fries and then ask for chips. No one else I know will admit to Maccas, its not PC, I keep telling them they are clean, consistent and nutritious and a great service training for young kids but it all falls on deaf ears.

    Because we live outta town we mostly have home cooked, which is why we have so many visitors. Last Melb Cup we went to a local restaurant, what a feast! The duck was 2x cooked, first baked in honey and spices and the seafood ravioli melted in your mouth. Scallops, so fresh! Prawns in the lightest of batter! We only ordered 3 courses but had 5, it didnt stop. And a jeroboam of Mcwilliams Rosehill shiraz.

    Cascade pale ale, a great thirst quencher.

    rog

    December 1, 2006 at 7:39 pm

  34. Jason, you should read my comment as self-reflection. I do eat wrong foods, but I am fully aware that I do.

    One smart student of mine came up with this (or maybe it is a quote from some Yugoslavian comedy):

    “Morality does not stop us from doing immoral things. However it does prevent us from enjoying them.”

    Same about diet, I suppose.

    Boris

    December 2, 2006 at 1:49 am

  35. Terje — when did I imply you were thin-skinned, you skanky-arsed cock-smoking mentally-malnutritioned poor immitation of a crusty toad fart? 😉

    My poisons of choice — coffee, red bull, fatty food, alcohol (beer & red wine), cigarettes (when drunk), marijuana, magic mushrooms & anything you can buy in Amsterdam. I think that just about covers everything except heroin. Vote for me.

    John Humphreys

    December 2, 2006 at 1:29 pm

  36. John,

    “Thin skinned” generally means that somebody over-reacts to perceived attacks. I don’t think you ever implied this about me. All I meant is that when JC chose to attack me during the Israel discussion your defence of my character (whilst appreciated), possibly created the impression that the personal barbs that he was hurling were a source of injury. Mostly I just thought they were amusing and said more about JC than about me.

    Regards,
    Terje.

    p.s. On reflection my comment was very badly worded. I think you are a good sport when it comes to debate and discussion. My comment could imply that you had offended me in some way, however this is certainly not the case.

    terjepetersen

    December 4, 2006 at 12:42 am


Leave a Reply

