catallaxy files

catallaxy in technical exile

Sydney blogbash 16th December

with 15 comments

Catallaxy blogger skepticlawyer aka Helen Dale will be visiting Sydney in mid-December and this seems like a good excuse to hold another blogbash. So here we go again. A blogbash will commence at the now well-worn traditional stomping ground for online polemicists, the Clock Hotel from 830 pm on December 16th. Hope that’s not too late for everyone, but it would provide an opportunity for people to drop in at their own pace after dinner. It is, after all, a Saturday night.

We’ll all meet at the ground floor bar (some people should ensure they have their prescription glasses ready by then). Everyone is of course welcome, blog writers and readers, the left and the right and the wishy-washy agnostics.

Written by Admin

November 28, 2006 at 8:37 am

Posted in Uncategorized

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks Jason… such a trial organizing piss ups, eh?

    😉

    skepticlawyer

    November 28, 2006 at 8:44 am

  2. I would like to remind people that alcohol has a number of adverse effects on the human body and abuse of alcohol is a major factor in both premature mortality and morbidity, being linked with just about every disease known to man ranging from heart disease to cancer, not to mention gout. For that reason I would like to remind people who attend this function to be careful about the amount of alcohol that they consume, bearing in mind the relevant factors including body weight, metabolic rate, sex (that is whether you hope to be capable at the end of the event) and ingestion of food and related other substances in serial or in parallel with ingestion of the alcoholic beverages. Further bullletins will be released in proximity to the event.

    From the Government. Here to help.

    Rafe Champion

    November 28, 2006 at 2:01 pm

  3. What Rafe is saying is that he’s feeling his age, being in his seventh decade an’ all. I, too, feel your pain Rafe!

    whyisitso

    November 28, 2006 at 2:52 pm

  4. he is a rafeing loony.

    He can’t go because he is too poppered out

    Bring Back CL's Blog

    November 28, 2006 at 3:57 pm

  5. Can I bring a date? She’s a post-Catholic reflexive Lefty but not pushy about it, very intelligent and good to look at. 🙂

    Plus I think she has read Helen’s book, unlike myself (sorry).

    fatfingers

    November 28, 2006 at 4:00 pm

  6. As long as you can find us ff that should be fine. I’m redoing my cornrows (I may even run to extensions, although that takes me ages) just so I stand out!

    skepticlawyer

    November 28, 2006 at 4:06 pm

  7. Just found out she is otherwise engaged on the 16th. Oh well, I shall have to be a dateless loser instead.

    You guys should be easy to find – I’ll look for the drinkers telling the bar staff that a demand-driven prices policy for drinks would be better for everyone. 🙂

    fatfingers

    November 28, 2006 at 4:14 pm

  8. “As long as you can find us ff that should be fine. I’m redoing my cornrows (I may even run to extensions, although that takes me ages) just so I stand out!”

    A tad over six feet. A blackbelt blondie. Runs home from work. 80kilos. And with an African hairdo…. Surrounded by a bunch of blokes.

    I don’t know sister.

    You might just wind up blending in with the crowd.

    All that noise. Its going to be too difficult.

    GMB

    November 28, 2006 at 4:58 pm

  9. Is the Clock noisy Graeme? From their website I got the impression there were several bars to choose from and that one of them was quiet.

    Mind you it is a Saturday night.

    skepticlawyer

    November 28, 2006 at 11:40 pm

  10. we’ll all meet on the ground floor bar so poor fatty doesn’t get left out again. if it gets noisy we can move.

    graeme, I take it you’re coming?

    Jason Soon

    November 28, 2006 at 11:46 pm

  11. It’s pretty noisy but a good place, sl.

    Mark Bahnisch

    November 29, 2006 at 1:24 am

  12. Quieter out the back, though. But I moved to the front bar when I discovered you could smoke there. Then Tim Blair came along and that’s where we all ended up hanging around.

    Mark Bahnisch

    November 29, 2006 at 1:24 am

  13. Can’t remember the name, but I’d recommend the Thai place across the road for a good feed beforehand as well.

    Mark Bahnisch

    November 29, 2006 at 1:25 am

  14. Prasit’s?

    Kitty

    November 29, 2006 at 8:34 am

  15. Mark, are you still smoking those cancer sticks? Mind you my brother had a hulluva time giving them up, so I’m not going to pretend it’s easy.

    If she doesn’t know already, can you make sure Kimberella knows the blogbash is on – I’d really like to catch up with her.

    Ta.

    skepticlawyer

    November 29, 2006 at 8:40 am


Leave a Reply

