catallaxy files

catallaxy in technical exile

Skepticlawyer's Sydney visit

with 34 comments

I’m in Sydney for work stuff in mid-December, and have earmarked 16 December for a blogmeet. Jason is minister in charge of organisation, so he’ll let people know when and where and what. I know diddly-squat about Sydney, so following his call is probably a good idea.

Hope to catch up with bloggers and other interested parties then.

Written by Admin

November 22, 2006 at 6:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

34 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. December 16 is a Saturday, so the consumption of alcohol is encouraged…

    skepticlawyer

    November 22, 2006 at 6:21 pm

  2. SL
    Make sure you catch up with jimmy Wheeldon. That’s would sure turn the night into a morgue fest. Reminds me of the guy in the movie, ‘the cooler” but without the humor.

    JC.

    November 22, 2006 at 7:17 pm

  3. Sorry, i meant James. Never call a harvard grad Jimmy.

    JC.

    November 22, 2006 at 7:18 pm

  4. I just had this mental picture of blogs meeting….a mess of jelly, blubber and lube…sorry, back to the ironing..

    rog

    November 22, 2006 at 7:42 pm

  5. I’d be more interested in catching up with people like you, JC, assuming you’re a Sydneysider.

    skepticlawyer

    November 22, 2006 at 7:48 pm

  6. no hes from some outlying settlement somewhere…

    c8to

    November 22, 2006 at 7:55 pm

  7. testetest

    c8to

    November 22, 2006 at 7:57 pm

  8. hmmmm

    c8to

    November 22, 2006 at 8:10 pm

  9. once again

    c8to

    November 22, 2006 at 8:11 pm

  10. Sorry, SL. I live in Melb. Wifeys fault.

    JC.

    November 22, 2006 at 8:13 pm

  11. He is from Batman’s village which is an outer suburb of Launceston (Tasmania).

    Nothing to do with Robin.

    http://www.museum.vic.gov.au/marvellous/early/index.asp

    Rafe Champion

    November 22, 2006 at 8:14 pm

  12. ‘your last two post’s coincedentally contained apostrophe’s in the title and hence made the recent comment’s stop working’

    fixe’d now

    c8to

    November 22, 2006 at 8:15 pm

  13. Dudes
    Go ahead knock it as much as you like. I’ll joing you. Friggin weather here is miserable. Can go for a coupla weeks without seeing the sun.

    JC.

    November 22, 2006 at 8:17 pm

  14. That’s what I thought, c8to, but I figured there must be a way round it. I rewrote the feminist one without a question mark in the hope that this would fix the problem, but no luck.

    skepticlawyer

    November 22, 2006 at 8:18 pm

  15. c8to – I’s thi’s an attempt to fix all tho’se people who seem the think that putting an “s” on the end of a word automatically mean’s an apo’strophe is needed?

    Andrew Reynolds

    November 22, 2006 at 8:18 pm

  16. Yep, Melbourne is worse than London. Miserable, cold and a pain in the arse. It is also the world’s worst place to start a diet, and because it’s so miserable, it puts you off exercising. So you get fat.

    I love the way I get to run home from work every afternoon.

    skepticlawyer

    November 22, 2006 at 8:21 pm

  17. Should be stapled to peoples’ foreheads: ‘possessive “its” has no apostrophe’.

    skepticlawyer

    November 22, 2006 at 8:22 pm

  18. It actually has it’s good points like when your leaving the place it only takes 20 minutes to get to the airport and there’s never an airport delay. So they make leaving it easy.

    On a serious note though, Sydney is starting to show all the bad traits of a big city. Shitty public transport and packed roads, not that I would ever be seen dead in a bus or train. Racial tension and average things becoming luxuries.

    JC.

    November 22, 2006 at 8:26 pm

  19. that’s got me stomped SL. Why would you get fat in melbourne.

    JC.

    November 22, 2006 at 8:27 pm

  20. sydney airport is 8 minutes by train from central…i catch it everyday to work…

    sure melbourne might be nice…but the one word argument to end the debate in favour of sydney is “beach”

    c8to

    November 22, 2006 at 8:47 pm

  21. I love Melbourne. one of the best cities on earth. well designed, nice cool weather, far more civilised dining and drinking atmosphere, great public transport.

    I don’t need to be near the beach or anything non-artificial to be happy.

    Jason Soon

    November 22, 2006 at 8:50 pm

  22. yea Cato. No argument from me. Sydney is a great city. Move there in a flash if …er I was allowed.

    JC.

    November 22, 2006 at 8:50 pm

  23. Yea jase but it’s so fucking perfect, it’s irritating. Everything is so perfectly planned. We moved out of this suburb we were living in because of the shit that was getting built around up and down the street. Everything new was Neo-georgan, French provincial, with a touch of Spanish baroque. Seriously, i counted 5 different themes in one fucking house down the street. And the fucking fences! Everyplace has 10 foot fence…. it amazing what people will pay to live in a prison like surrounding.

    I don’t blame the people so much as i blame the useless architects who work with the people.

    There’s one place that was going up that looked like a mini Buck palace.

    Don’t get me wrong. I could care if people lived in a card board box and I do understand peoples movtives are essentially stautus driven.
    What i found I disliked is the desire for the past, as though putting up old looking palaces is a tribute to taste. Why not have a modern looking palace?

    So we pulled up stumps and moved. My better 1/2 likes a more populated envirnoment.

    Sydney is not like that. It does have a likening for modern structures and is more creative.

    JC.

    November 22, 2006 at 9:02 pm

  24. Jase:
    you get in the the car swtich on the radio and every station carries this identifier about “melbourne is the worlds most liveable City”
    What the fuck? Hearing it every 10 minutes does tend to grat the nerves a little.

    JC.

    November 22, 2006 at 9:05 pm

  25. You get fat because it’s continuously pissing with rain. I like my sunshine, my trees, my beaches. I want to go outside and exercise.

    skepticlawyer

    November 22, 2006 at 9:23 pm

  26. Sydney, what are you going to that dump for?

    Melbourne’s got lots of kulture and stuff.

    You’re right about getting fat. Sigh!!!

    But I love the Melbourne vibe. As a Brisbane lass in reality, I think it reminds me of Brisveg, but with more cool people and cool indie media and stuff.

    So I take it you won’t be making it down to Melbourne anytime soon.

    Darlene

    November 22, 2006 at 9:37 pm

  27. The other thing about Melbourne is it doesn’t have that antiquated rule about where you’re allowed to serve alcohol.

    Jason Soon

    November 22, 2006 at 9:38 pm

  28. How about an LDP meet SL?
    I’m in Sydney, Jason’s a member and there’s a few others who’d probably be available.

    davidleyonhjelm

    November 22, 2006 at 9:47 pm

  29. well we can have a separate libertarian function and a blog meet. whatever suits people.

    Jason Soon

    November 22, 2006 at 9:49 pm

  30. sydney is australia’s best sydney despite all the crap – terrible traffic and transport, stupid alchohol laws (although at least we don’t have lockdown) yuppies etcetera etcetera…

    its just that good that it manages to get around this…

    you sit down by the harbour on a nice day, or tamarama beach and you’re in paradise…

    im not some idealogue…melbourne almost undoubtedly has better night life and brisbane has beautiful architecture along the river and relaxed vibe, but sydney will always be the unliveable jewel in the crown…

    c8to

    November 22, 2006 at 9:57 pm

  31. As I said over at Thoughts on Freedom, excellent idea David. The party’s got all my details, but you Sydneysiders are going to have to make the running with venues etc. I’ll fill you all in on where I’m staying for the first two nights (work related) once I know, then for subsequent nights, also once I know 🙂

    skepticlawyer

    November 22, 2006 at 10:10 pm

  32. Guy’s- this is important to me – you cannot surf in Melbourne, but you can in Sydney. Even Bondi is usually uncrowded (save for english backpacker kooks). In Melbourne, you need to drive to Torquay.

    I have lived in Tokyo and Buenos Aires and Tehran and Frankfurt and Jakarta – and a city you can surf in is a majorly attractive thingo !

    Melbourne’s nightlife etc is however better !

    jimmythespiv

    November 23, 2006 at 2:03 am

  33. I envy you guys but I will stay in Perth and to compensate I will go to see a test match instead (first cricket match of any level for me).

    Boris

    November 23, 2006 at 9:36 pm

  34. You got tickets? You lucky bugger!

    skepticlawyer

    November 23, 2006 at 9:43 pm


Leave a Reply

