catallaxy files

catallaxy in technical exile

An introduction — what I hope to bring to the table

leave a comment »

Hello there, I’m Brock. I started blogging on LiveJournal many years ago, then started a blog relating to my research. In the last few months, both my LiveJournal and research blog were becoming clogged with posts on a few subjects in particular, leading to my creation of Rescuing Reason.

As an American libertarian and a scientist, I thought that we as a country in the US and we as a world were slowly becoming enlightened. I thought that Enlightenment thinking had succeeded, and that it was only a matter of time until it was the predominant basis for thought and civilization. My recent observations have led me to a different conclusion.

The resurgence of fundamentalist religion in the US (not sure how it’s going for you all), along with the farce that is Intelligent Design, has convinced me that rational thinkers need to stand up and be counted. We need to say that we’ve had enough when people make life-changing policy decisions based on nonsense. This is partly to stay their progress, and partly so that others that feel the same way but are perhaps less bold know that they are not alone.

I hope, then, that my entries here will be well-debated if not well-recieved.

ADDENDUM: With regard to problematic fundamentalism and issues with freedom of speech outside of the US, please see the whole Danish cartoon issue. I’ll also be following some of that.

Written by Admin

April 2, 2006 at 5:46 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

